We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Need Advice -- First timer Hawaii

Which Kauai hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Omaha
reviews: 4
Need Advice -- First timer Hawaii

Since it is my first time in Hawaii. I used a week to plan everything.

I plan to stay in Oahu (4 star hotel)for 4 nights, then Kauai (Condo)for 5 nights and 1 night in Maui(5 star hotel as an enhancement of the trip since it is a good deal...)

I have not book car or inlands ticket yet... Do I need to be aware of anything... I have a tour agent take care of everything on Oahu. but the rest of the is on myself....

Any advice ?

Elk Rapids, Michigan
Destination Expert
for Lanai
reviews: 35
1. Re: Need Advice -- First timer Hawaii

Don't over pack and don't try to do too much. Set some time aside to just relax and enjoy one of the magnificent sunsets.

Honolulu, Hawaii
2. Re: Need Advice -- First timer Hawaii

Just make sure you bring a large waterproof bag....you will need it for the trip home. After a vacation like you have planned you will be so relaxed they will have to pour you onto the plane.

Personally, I would spend more nights on Maui than Kauai. (Note to self: Be prepared for rabid disagreements).

Kauai, Hawaii
reviews: 12
3. Re: Need Advice -- First timer Hawaii

Party animal!

Kauai, Hawaii
reviews: 12
4. Re: Need Advice -- First timer Hawaii

You will need a car in Kauai for sure. Only a day in Maui, might be a good place to unwind, esp. in your 5-star hotel, from the rigors of adventures in Oahu and Kauai. Just use the shuttle for your overnighter in Maui.

You can make your way around Oahu pretty well on the excellent transit system...all the way to the North Shore/Haleiwa, etc. and back to Waikiki for ?$2.00 R.T.