We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scottish Highland Cows

Which Vermont hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Illinois
reviews: 2
Scottish Highland Cows

Ok, this is a bit of a longshot, but I absolutely love these kind of cows. Yes, I live in the Midwest and shouldn't be excited about cows (ha!), but I was wondering if anyone knows if there is a farm with these kind of cows at all? I'm a photographer and just dying to get a picture of these cows amongst the fall foliage.

Woodstock, Vermont
Destination Expert
for Woodstock
reviews: 232
1. Re: Scottish Highland Cows

Morning Yellowliax,

Delightful animals! Indeed there were two in a field with a donkey at Bridgwater Corners on the way to Killington on route 4, but since the Tropical Storm damaged their field, the donkey has lot his chums! So they are in State.....

Illinois
2. Re: Scottish Highland Cows

Darn! :(

Buffalo
Destination Expert
for Buffalo
reviews: 41
3. Re: Scottish Highland Cows

This month's issue of Yankee magazine has a photo of a Scottish Highlander in a snowy pasture at the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe (see page 90). The photo was taken in the 1990s, at which time the herd was owned by Carroll Shatney, whose "cattle are famous throughout the U.S.," according to the photographer, Peter Miller. The caption notes that Mr. Shatney died in 2009, but his son has taken over managing the herd. Based on that information, they shouldn't be hard to track down. Good luck!

Illinois
4. Re: Scottish Highland Cows

Oooh I hope that's true! A farm by us has a couple, but it's along a highway and not the best for photos (well as "highway" as it gets here in small town, usa)

Stowe, Vermont
reviews: 48
5. Re: Scottish Highland Cows