We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

best camping spot

Which South Dakota hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Gardiner, Montana...
best camping spot

We will be spending a week in the middle of June near the Badlands and Mt Rushmore. We want to camp in our RV and stay at one centrally located place for the week (maybe move once). We prefer forest service campgrounds over RV parks or KOA's. Any suggestions on the best place to camp?

Pitman, New Jersey
Destination Expert
for Rapid City, South Dakota
reviews: 35
1. Re: best camping spot

Welcome Deborah!

I will start by saying I am not a camper, so I have no direct experience. However, based on your description of yourselves and the opinions of others on this site, I think Custer State Park would be a good match for you. Here's a link to camping the the park:

…sd.gov/state-parks/…

You could maybe choose campground closer to the Badlands for a night or 2 and then move to Custer SP. This way, you could stay closer to the Badlands for a night and catch a sunrise/sunset.

If you haven't already done so, be sure to order the travel planner at travelsd.com.

Please let us know if you have additonal questions.

Sioux Falls, South...
Destination Expert
for Sioux Falls
reviews: 128
2. Re: best camping spot