We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

California 10 Day Trip - Giant Sequoias

Katy, Texas
reviews: 5
California 10 Day Trip - Giant Sequoias

Hello to the answerer. Thanks for the info, and this is my first time here so I might not be doing this right, but:

We are going on a trip to California this summer probably in late July to early August. However we only have 10 days to do this trip. I have been using a site called Go Destinations (somewhat) to plan my trip. Our goal was to fly into San Francisco and spend a few days (probably 2) there doing a Bay Cruise Adventure, the California Academy of Sciences, and a Grayline Muir Woods Tour. We were then going to drive down to Valencia to spend 2 days at Six Flags Magic Mountain. After that we were going to spend 3 days in Los Angeles doing 6 things, and then driving down to San Diego to spend our final 3 days doing 7 things (I can list these things if you wish). We would then fly out of S. D. This was all going smoothly until I realized that the Muir Woods did not contain Giant Sequoias (GS) but Redwood Sequoias. After some research (monumentaltrees.com/en/…) I found that most of the GS groves were well out of our way. Would it be worth our time to go 4 hours out of our way in order to visit these monumental trees? And if so, what grove would you recommend?

San Francisco...
Destination Expert
for San Francisco
reviews: 114
1. Re: California 10 Day Trip - Giant Sequoias

Muir woods has some of the tallest Redwood trees. If you want to go to see Giants Sequoias you may want to go to Yosemite or Sequoia National Park. I don't know if something is worth it or not -- that depends on you. Millions and Millions of visitors go to Yosemite and to SEKI so it is your choice.