We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travel to Alaska in December 2013

Which Alaska hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Sydney, Australia
Travel to Alaska in December 2013

Hi,

I have always wanted to visit Alaska and Im planning a trip in mid - late December 2013.

I was thinking about traveling on the train from Anchorage - Fairbanks - if its operating.

Seeing I'll be traveling by myself, I'm keen to get out and mix with the locals and see what life is like in Alaska.

Im looking for suggestions of what I should do and where I should stay...

I was also wondering if there is a train that goes from Alaska to Canada at that time of year.

Thanks

Jess

Sydney, Australia
1. Re: Travel to Alaska in December 2013

I should add, Im a teacher in Australia and seeing Dec/Jan is out end of year holiday time... I'm limited to travelling in December and January.

Is it worth coming to Alaska at that time of year?

Fairbanks, Alaska
reviews: 30
2. Re: Travel to Alaska in December 2013

Coming to interior Alaska in December is like going to Alice springs in July. Sure you can but why would anyone want to? Other than getting a chance to see the northern lights there is NOTHING to do in interior Alaska during the heart of the winter except wonder if things can be more painful than -40C/F and lament that you missed the 3 degrees above the horizon "daylight" of 3 hours. And yes things can be more painful than -40C/F, it's called -50F.

Although the Fairbanks convention and visitors bureau will say otherwise, there is nothing for tourists to do in december other than sit at a bar and drink.

The climate is a great deal milder along coastal Alaska. Anchorage and southeast Alaska.

Have a look at this website and you might get some ideas.

http://www.visitwildalaska.com/