We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silly question of the day..when is peak mosquito season...

Which Alaska hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Destination Expert
for Santa Fe, Mesa Verde National Park, Boulder, New Mexico
reviews: 38
Silly question of the day..when is peak mosquito season...

I know you will all laugh, lol! But I live in the desert and we only have 3 or 4 mosquitoes a year! When I get bit, I have huge allergic reaction, so I am trying to plan an Alaska trip around my bug phobia! Plans right now include 7 day cruise from Vancouver then to Denali, Fairbanks, and then 3 days of fishing before flying home. Total of 2 1/2 weeks.

Will early/mid June be best? I'm a teacher so we can only visit during summer! We want to do some fishing, I would like to catch a salmon, dh wants to get a halibut and the teen just wants to catch something! I don't plan on too many backcountry hikes.

I have head net etc. Deet seems so toxic, but I'm sure needed.

Thanks for any replies...I know silly question of the day!

Manitoba, Canada
1. Re: Silly question of the day..when is peak mosquito season...

Not a silly question. But the time of year you chose is not what I'd choose.

I've been to Alaska twice, 2 cruises plus landtours, at the end of August/first week of Sept. During that entire time I saw a grand total of one mosquito, at Denali. It became an ex-mosquito before it could bite me.

I'm not saying others weren't around, especially if someone hiked in the bush, but I never once used the bug repellent I'd brought. With that in mind, my suggestion would be to cruise up to Alaska in mid-August and do your landtour the last week of August. Other benefits would be a chance to see Denali's autumn colors starting, and a small chance of seeing the aurora.