We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Perth or Melbourne?

Which Perth hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Kuala Lumpur...
Perth or Melbourne?

I m planning to bring my 2 kids to Australia during mid November, this is my first time to Austalia, please suggest should I choose Perth or Melbourne. My kids are 6 yrs old boy n 11yrs old girl. Planning to stay for about 5 days there. Thx

Broome, Australia
Destination Expert
for Broome
reviews: 41
1. Re: Perth or Melbourne?

Gosh, a very hard question, as both cities are great places to visit for children and adults alike.

I cannot see how any of us can really answer that question without you being more specific as to what you most want to do, enjoy, see and get from this holiday.

St. Gallen...
Destination Expert
for Jakarta, Bandung
reviews: 51
2. Re: Perth or Melbourne?

Personally, I would pick Melbourne for holiday if it's your first time to Australia especially if you are more interested in urban areas rather than nature.. More things to see and do within the city limits.. But It's rather hard choice to pick if you are interested in nature as well.. So might be good if you specify you interest??

Cheers

rural West Aussie
Destination Expert
for Perth
reviews: 52
3. Re: Perth or Melbourne?

If you're looking for nature, beaches, wildlife etc, then Perth. If you want edgy urban environment and the arts, Melbourne.

Nannup, Australia
reviews: 23
4. Re: Perth or Melbourne?

Why not Sydney or the Gold Coast?

Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Sydney, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Business Travel, New South Wales
reviews: 575
5. Re: Perth or Melbourne?

Yes; why not Sydney ???

It does depend on your family interests ???

ie.. do they like swimming, shopping, nature etc.etc...

South Pole
reviews: 39