We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Visit in April

In cooperation with: Visit Norway
Which Geilo hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
London
reviews: 19
Visit in April

Hi we are thinking of visiting Geilo in April. My husband wants to ski (some experience but a beginner really) and my four year old and I want to ice skate and go on a husky ride (I have a husky obsessed child).

Is Geilo suitable ? Also other than in cities (Denmark and Sweeden) I've never done a snow holiday before so any tips appreciated.

Thanks

Claire

12 replies to this topic
Harstad, Norway
Destination Expert
for Bergen, Norway
reviews: 35
1. Re: Visit in April

Geilo is a ski resort and should be suitable for you. Easy access by train from Oslo. Denmark does not have much snow or snow related winter activities. Sweden does have resorts, but unfortunately I do not know anything about them. April could be too late for Sweden or you would have to go way up north where they may have mountains and skiing conditions as late as April.

Edited: 7:49 am, February 10, 2013
Oslo
reviews: 70
2. Re: Visit in April

Late April may be too little snow even at Geilo. Finse station near Geilo has a longer season (bring UV-sunglasses and UV-sunblock)

http://www.finseskisenter.no/

vossnow.net/Database/…5Cfoto55503.jpg

vossnow.net/Database/…5Cfoto55524.jpg

Riksgränsen near Narvik is supposed to have the longest season

http://www.riksgransen.se/

Harstad, Norway
Destination Expert
for Bergen, Norway
3. Re: Visit in April

I have been skiing in Geilo in early May - maybe that was exceptional ? I would not recommend Riksgränsen - it is a dreary place.

Oslo
4. Re: Visit in April