We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Train Station to the City to the Ruin

Which Durnstein hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Jakarta, Indonesia
reviews: 60
Train Station to the City to the Ruin

I will be visiting Wachau Region on one of my Vienna-trip days around end of November, and I aim to go directly to Durnstein which is right in the center of this World Heritage Sites.

I plan to take a train from Wien to Durnstein with an exchange in Krems, and going back the same way. The logic would be, this is my first time going alone during winter, and I'd better go straight to where I want to. And since it's winter, the Melk-Krems bike ride seems almost impossible.

I have several questions before making a complete itinerary.

- is Durnstein train station far from the center? around how long walking distance?

- my aim is to go up to the Richard the Lionheard ruin to get a very fantastic spot to take pictures of the Wachau Region from the hill. Is it a hard hike? (especially during winter)

- is Durnstein still 'alive' during winter? (for the wine sip, or lunch)

looking forward to the enlightments, and thanks so much in advance :-)

vienna
Destination Expert
for Vienna, Lower Austria, Austrian Alps
reviews: 23
1. Re: Train Station to the City to the Ruin

Most things in Dürnstein close by the end of October.

Still, it is worth a visit at most anytime as it assumes another character in the " offseason "

The bahnhof / Train station is just east of the village. This just a 5 minute walk to the village center.

Two different pathways exist to walk tom the Ruins. This takes 15- 20 minutes depending on your stops.

To me the easier walk is that found beginning just across the street from the Raiffeisen Bank - this just before you enter through the town gate.