We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

By myself, first time in Stockholm - some questions

Which Stockholm hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
mediterranean
reviews: 27
By myself, first time in Stockholm - some questions

Hello,

I'll be in Stockholm by myself next month for a work-related visit. This is my first time ever in Stockholm/Sweden.

I need to be at the Karolinska Institutet every day and also in the evenings.

I have been looking for a place to stay that will be within walking distance and within my budget - 100 Euro (900 Krona) per night - but found nothing.

Do you have any suggestions? Should I look further away and rely on public transportation to get to and from the Institute? How easy/safe/pleasant it would be at night for a single female? I need someplace that would be feasible to go back to in the afternoon to change clothes/rest a while before going back in the evening.

Maybe I worry too much, but I decided against renting an apartment through Airbnb (although I had really good experience with that in the past but I wasn't alone then) and the Omena hotel for personal safety reasons.

A second question - my flight to Stockholm arrives on a Sunday at 1pm. I assume it will be around 3pm by time I get to my hotel (wherever it may be) - I'd love to see the city, eat/buy some great food etc. Any recommendations? I understand most things are closed Sunday afternoon (including the big food markets which I'd hate to miss - I absolutely love food markets and big grocery stores in foreign countries).

Any other advice would be much appreciated!

Stockholm...
reviews: 8
1. Re: By myself, first time in Stockholm - some questions

Hi,