We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Athens for two evenings & two mornings. No full days

Which Athens hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Atlanta, Georgia
reviews: 67
Athens for two evenings & two mornings. No full days

Hello all,

This is my first time in Greece. I am traveling with 2 friends (two females, late 20's) and we get to Athens at 1.50p on Tuesday. We are planning to take the Express X95 to Syntagma Square and then walk to our hotel (Stanley hotel) from there, so I'm assuming we might get to our hotel at about 4pm ish.

We fly out of Athens to the islands the next day(Wednesday) at 2pm and return on Friday at 3:40pm.

We then fly out of Athens headed back home on Saturday at 2:50pm.

I know this all sounds a bit complicated, but that's what we get for trying to be our own travel agents (lol). We are trying to see as many things as possible in our short and rather choppy stay. My questions are:

-What touristy stuff can we do when we get into town on Tuesday and Friday evening?

-Also Friday is my birthday, so we would like to have a nice unique nightlife experience. It doesn't have to be a club, bar scene (even though we are open to that too)...we would like cultured stuff like theater, shows etc. We don't mind staying out late.

-We would really love to see the Acropolis. From all the discussions on here, I gather that they close early so we may not able to visit them during our evening stays. However i hear they open at 8am, so I'm assuming we can do a quick dash there on Wednesday or Saturday morning before our flight. Or is this plan a bit too ambitious? How long does it roughly take to explore the acropolis?

-Given our location of Stanley hotel, how long do you reckon we need to allocate for getting to the airport to catch our outgoing flights?