We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

From Schipol to Den Haag- OV chipcard

Which The Hague hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Singapore, Singapore
reviews: 11
From Schipol to Den Haag- OV chipcard

Hey, I just need some advice regarding the OV chipcard. I will be arriving from Amsterdam Schipol Airport and will be travel by train to Den Haag Centraal where I will take a tram to a friend's place. I will be spending about a week in Den Haag and thus go to all the places of interest. Is the anonymous OV chipcard necessary for me or should I just buy tickets as I travel on board trams etc?

Thanks for the help!

Amsterdam, The...
Destination Expert
for Amsterdam
reviews: 74
1. Re: From Schipol to Den Haag- OV chipcard

I'm not an expert on the tram system in Den Haag but the strippenkaart is not used there anymore. Probably the easiest thing to do is get an OV card from the NS machine at the airport and load it up with at least €30 as this will cover your return trip to Den Haag on the train and around 10 trips on the tram.

There may be a better product that you can use in DH like a weekly ticket, perhaps you should ask your friend about this.

The only thing is that you need a €20 minimum balance on the card to use the train network so maybe it would be better on second thoughts, just to buy a paper ticket for the train and then get a weekly ticket when you are in DH.

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Destination Expert
for Sri Lanka
reviews: 144
2. Re: From Schipol to Den Haag- OV chipcard

Spot on by Ron. In addition: Den Haag area still allows classic strippenkaarts, though you cannot buy these at airport; you should be able to buy one at Den Haag station kiosks etc.

All the best,

<Erik> & [Sandya]

Singapore, Singapore
reviews: 11
3. Re: From Schipol to Den Haag- OV chipcard