We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amsterdam Ghent Bruges Paris by train point to point or pass

Which Amsterdam hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Los Angeles...
Amsterdam Ghent Bruges Paris by train point to point or pass

Hi I've been planning to do a solo trip for 2 weeks to Europe for early october.

I will be flying from Los Angeles LAX to Schipol airport and plan to stay in Amsterdam for 4 days, While there I would like to do a side trip for a day to Delft or Haarlem.

From there my idea is to take the train and spend a day or two in Ghent and 2 days in Bruges

than take a train to Paris for 4 days.(Returning back to Amsterdam for my departure)

This is my first time in Europe, My question is should I buy a Rail pass or just buy point to point train tickets as I go? thanx.

5 replies to this topic
Amsterdam, The...
reviews: 57
1. Re: Amsterdam Ghent Bruges Paris by train point to point or pass

An open jaw flight would be more convenient.

As for the rest, post in the Train Travel forum as well.

Los Angeles...
2. Re: Amsterdam Ghent Bruges Paris by train point to point or pass

Thanx I'll do that, I'm new to trip advisor and didn't know there was a train travel forum.

Amsterdam, The...
reviews: 57
3. Re: Amsterdam Ghent Bruges Paris by train point to point or pass

There is, and that is where my travel guru 'The Man In Seat 61' operates and answers questions! His brilliant website www.seat61.com might answer some questions in the mean time.

London
reviews: 35
4. Re: Amsterdam Ghent Bruges Paris by train point to point or pass

Brugge - Paris and Paris - Amsterdam on the high-speed Thalys trains should be booked in advance, bookings open three months before departure date. See www.thalys.com