We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Suggestions required for a two week trip to Lausanne

Which Lausanne hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Leicester, United...
reviews: 5
Suggestions required for a two week trip to Lausanne

Hi all,

I am a PhD student in the UK and will be visiting Lausanne to meet my second supervisor who is a professor at EPFL. My trip will be two weeks long 1 July - 15 July. I will be spending most of the time at a LAB in EPFL but will have weekends for myself. So just wanted some ideas on how to make best use of my weekend(s).

I have heard Lausanne is not as beautiful as some of the other places in the country. Can I do day excursions to nearby places? As I am a student, I am looking for low-budget options and as I have booked my accommodation for the whole trip at a student accommodation (Triaudes - FMEL), I would not want to spend a night away and pay extra.

Any recommendations will be highly appreciated.

Regards,

Shadan

Martigny...
Destination Expert
for Switzerland
reviews: 113
1. Re: Suggestions required for a two week trip to Lausanne

Welcome to the Switzerland Forum, Shadan... you will have a great time here and the EPFL campus is terrific, especially the new "Learning Centre".

Lausanne is a very Swiss city and has a lot to offer someone who takes the trouble to seek things out. Parts of it are very pretty as well - area around the Cathedral (great view down to the lake), Place de la Palud and the Hôtel de Ville, and some nice parks. You as a student might really appreciate the area called the "Flon" which was quite recently re-developed and is now full of cafés, etc etc and there is a lot of action at night! Great for students!! Ouchy - the port of Lausanne - is a pleasant place too.