We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First time traveling by train

Which Geneva hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Haslet, Texas
reviews: 4
First time traveling by train

We are visiting Geneva for the first time in August. We have two boys, 9 and 13. We would love to travel to France and Italy but want to know if we should book day trips through a tour company suggested by my company or if its pretty easy to get around and do on our own for alot less money. We don't speak any French so I'm a little worried about getting on the right train. I've been researching the rail passes but I'm totally new to this. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! We are staying at the Grand Hotel Kepinski in Geneva.

Anchorage, Alaska
Destination Expert
for Anchorage, Zermatt
reviews: 6
1. Re: First time traveling by train

Hi, are you thinking of day trips into France and Italy and Switzerland from Geneva? It really couldn't be easier to do! First, most train staff will speak at least some English in Italy and France and definitely in Swtizerland. Many will speak fluent English in Switzerland! You can get all the timetables for trains within Swtizerland and into Italy/France in English on the Swiss Rail website

www.sbb.ch/en

The stations are easy to navigate and it's not hard to figure out the trains. Most places have quite a few trains between them so it's not very critical if you do have a bit of confusion and miss one! Adds to the adventure particularly if you use the time to do a bit of cafe people watching!

The Rick Steves website (he's the PBS European travel guru but you probably know that) has great explanations of rail passes - don't go to Rail europe - they over charge and aren't particularly knowledgeable.

www.ricksteves.com

and another company several of us here use is