We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paris to Venice, but ....

Which Switzerland hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
california
reviews: 19
Paris to Venice, but ....

We are planning to fly from the US to Paris, spend a few days there and then (great blank here) eventually wind up in Venice. For the days in between (a week) we want to consider some independent travel. I am just beginning my research, but had a few basic questions as we narrow some of this down.

1) Our children are 13 and 16 and very good travelers. We will not have a problem traveling with carry-on bags only. That does, however, preclude the idea of skiing anywhere -- which is fine. So my question is: Will the charming towns of the French, Swiss or Italian Alps still be under a lot of snow with no hiking posssibilities in mid-april?

2) French, Swiss or Italian Alps?

3) Drive, take a train?

4) Stay in France? Normandy interests my husband but I'm thinking that's a day trip from Paris, not a destination for us.

All advice, suggestions, welcomed!

1 reply
Martigny...
Destination Expert
for Switzerland
reviews: 113
1. Re: Paris to Venice, but ....

There are no towns in the mountains. All the resorts are villages up there. The towns in Switzerland are either on the plateau or around the lakes or in some cases close to the mountains like Chur, Sion, Martigny etc.