We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

To drive or not to drive?

Which Tuscany hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Surrey
reviews: 17
To drive or not to drive?

We're planning a trip to Tuscany, flying into Pisa, spending a week or so in the countryside, then dropping off the car to spend a few days in Florence. I'd prefer NOT to drive but am becoming resolved to the idea.... I'm a confident driver in the UK and would appreciate any observations.

1. Re: To drive or not to drive?

-:- Message from TripAdvisor staff -:-

This post has been removed at the author's request. The author may repost if desired.

Posts on the TripAdvisor forums may be edited for a short period of time. Once the edit period has expired, authors may update their posts by removing and reposting them.

To read more about editing your posts, please follow this link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/help/how_to_edit_your_posts

Removed on: 5:00 pm, September 07, 2013
San Jose, California
2. Re: To drive or not to drive?

Driving in the countryside of Tuscany is no different than driving in any other countryside. It really is absolutely necessary though to have a car in Tuscany if you want to visit some of the smaller hilltowns and those villages not accessed by train and not well served by public transport.

New York City, New...
Destination Expert
for Rome, Amalfi
reviews: 10
3. Re: To drive or not to drive?

Yes, do get a car - I don't find it at all challenging to drive in the countryside - actually, I really love the country roads. You will get so much more out of your visit.

Do read up on the ZTLs as they do exist in most Tuscan towns - but, you just need to park outside of the town and walk into them. But to enjoy the countryside - absolutely, a car.

Surrey
4. Re: To drive or not to drive?