We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday to Rome! Tips and Advise please!

Which Rome hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
London, United...
reviews: 2
Holiday to Rome! Tips and Advise please!

I was just after information and advise on a trip to rome,

It's my first time abroad so i'm a total rookie on travelling, me and my GF are going for 4 days Our Hotel is pretty central so we will walk to most attractions. We want to see most of the attractions, and are after pointers, tips;

Is it better to buy the tickets online or while you're there?

What websites would you recommend?

How much money would be needed per day?

Also how long does it take to visit the main attractions?

We would like to see Colosseum, Roman Forum, Palestine, The Vatican, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, and any others anyone can suggest :).

Another thing are the pickpockets as bad as people say? I will be taking my DSLR would an across body strap and having my hand on it be enough? Will probably have neck pouch for any money aswell.

Wow thats alot, I'll look forward to seeing the replies!

Glasgow, United...
reviews: 15
1. Re: Holiday to Rome! Tips and Advise please!

Hi

Rome is an amazing place and 4 days should let you see lots of it but I would suggest you plan ahead and make a sort of itinerary of the main attractions you would like to see everyday then fit in some other things while you are there. Lots of what you would like to see will be near each other so it's good to group attractions together. You can also get the Hop on Hop off bus or go n a free walking tour on your first day/night to help get your bearings, and you'll be surprised how close most things are.