We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

September visit - some pointers

Which San Sebastian - Donostia hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Bengaluru...
reviews: 82
September visit - some pointers

Hi. I'm looking to visit San Sebastian in September (third week), driving in from Bordeaux with my family. Have heard so much about it, and was looking for some pointers of not-to-miss stuff. Would 2-3 days be enough to get a real flavour of the city? We are foodies, and I'm a wine writer. I want to spend a couple of days in La Rioja too, after this, as I don't have a lot of time, maybe 5 days in the region in all, before heading to Madrid for a day.

As for stays, which areas would be recommended, and would hotels be better than apartments/B&Bs?

Any general ideas and tips would be appreciated, can get to specifics thereafter.

Thanks in advance!

11 replies to this topic
Bilbao, Spain
Destination Expert
for Bilbao, San Sebastian - Donostia, Basque Country, La Rioja
reviews: 3
1. Re: September visit - some pointers

Well, three days is fine, as you´ll have a car you´ll have plenty of time to enjoy SS (no car needed) but also Getaria, Lekeitio, Hondarribia, the inland, Bilbao, Gernika...Food is our religion here and you´ll soon notice, so not much advice needed...this is foodies´ paradise. For Rioja, a couple of days is good enough, what kind of wineries are you looking for? This is nothing like Napa valley or Australia...closer to Bordeaux type of wineries.

San Sebastian is very small...just take into account that the film festival is at the end of September and lodging may be expensive and hard to get.

Bengaluru...
2. Re: September visit - some pointers

Thanks!