We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Germany Itinerary

Which Munich hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Tampa, Florida
Germany Itinerary

I am going to Berlin in early May on business but have 6-8 days before that to visit other parts of Germany. This is my first time in Germany!! I want to see Neuschwanstein so that means I will be heading towards Munich. Any suggestions on how to fit Munich, Neuschwanstein, picturesque scenery, quaint towns, Romantic Road, and a good Riesling winery into this?? Is it even possible? And can it be done by public transportation or will a rental car be necessary? I am having a tough time finding a tour group that covers all this. We are also outdoorsy so a day of hiking/biking in the mountains would be great too! I know, it is ambitious!!!

munich
reviews: 38
1. Re: Germany Itinerary

For your info the Romantic road isn't actually Romantic. It was something made up by the German tourist board in the 1950s as a road that linked a number of popular tourist sights.

Take an Intercity train to Munich. www.bahn.de

You can get good discounts for advance booking on Intercity servcies. You can book up to 92 days in advance.

BAYERN TICKET

There is a ticket called the Bayern Ticket. Costs €22 for 1 person then €4 for each additional person up to a total of 5 people. Gives you UNLIMITED use of ALL Regional public transport in Bavaria. Includes ALL Regional trains (includes all Regional trains from Munich to Salzburg - there is a train every hour and the journey takes 2hrs), ALL Regional buses and ALL city transport in Munich, Augsburg and Nürnberg.

Only the fast ICE, IC, EC and RJ Railjet trains are excluded

Valid from 9am weekdays (midnight weekends) until 3am the following morning

Full T&Cs and click on Bayern

bahn.de/i/…laender-ticket.shtml