We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help with itinerary

Which Limerick hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
virginia beach
posts: 19
Help with itinerary

We will be flying in on Saturday March 4 and checking into Adare Manor on Monday for the week. As virgins to Ireland what would you suggest as lodging and sights over the weekend before checking in? Any good day trips once settled in? Want to do scenic coastal? drives and castles.

Limerick, Ireland
Destination Expert
for Limerick, Killarney, Berny Riviere
posts: 19,129
reviews: 37
1. Re: Help with itinerary

Hi there Goshengirl,

Are you flying in and out of Shannon?

If you are flying in and out of Shannon then I would suggest that you drive up towards North Clare and Galway when you arrive.

Check out www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes a really good site that gives details of distance and estimated time. It also gives very good directions, although it is not infallible - sometimes there is a more efficient route known by locals that is not automatically generated by the computer.

Early March is low season and the Cliffs of Moher and Burren Interpretive Centres will be closed. However, you will still be able to see the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren and the Poulnabrone Dolmen. Then head to Ballyvaughan for a pint or two before heading to Galway for the next two nights. HOpefully Gariem, our Galway Expert will help here, although if you do a search for B&B's on the Galway Forum you will be able to find the good recommendations she has made for many others. She knows her B&Bs, does our Gariem :o)

Day 2, I would suggest you take a drive out to Clifden and then to Kylemore Abbey www.kylemoreabbey.com/ (read the current thread on Kylemore for fun, but don't take it too seriously). Kylemore is a girls boarding school (due to close in 2010) and is a magnificent castle with gardens and a visitors centre. You could then drive through Cong and back to Galway.

Day 3. Drive from Galway to Adare stopping off in Coole Park www.coolepark.ie/(WB Yeats) and Bunratty Castle and Folkpark www.shannonheritage.com/Bunratty_Day.htm.

Suggested Day Trips from Adare:

- Killarney

- Cork and Blarney Castle www.blarneycastle.ie/

- Glin Castle www.glincastle.com/, Irish Coffee and Flying Boat Museum in Foynes http://www.flyingboatmuseum.com/, Ballybunion Beach (town isn't great)

- Limerick City: St. Mary's Cathedral (12th Century)www.cathedral.limerick.anglican.org/ King John's Castle www.shannonheritage.com/KJC.htm , Hunt Museum www.huntmuseum.com/,

National Self Portrait Collection and the National Watercolour Collection (Both in the University of Limerick)

- Craggaunowen Fort www.shannonheritage.com/Craggaunowen_Day.htm and Knappogue Castle www.shannonheritage.com/Knappogue_Day.htm

- Drive to Killaloe www.killaloe.ie/, up to Birr Castle and Gardens www.birrcastle.com/, over to Kinnity Castle www.kinnittycastle.com/and home.

These are just some suggestions, get back to me if I can help further. Have a wonderful time.

Get answers to your questions about Limerick