We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Senior citizen considering hostelling in Dublin

Which Dublin hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Flin Flon, Canada
reviews: 18
Senior citizen considering hostelling in Dublin

I'm a 66 year old retired school teacher from Canada. My wife and i are going to spend a week travelling in Ireland but she wants to visit with our latest grandchild in England. i want to continue in Ireland for a few extra days. I'm going to try hostels as a way of keeping my costs down. I've never done this before. My concern is how can i find a quiet hostel in Dublin that is not too expensive and where i won't be the only senior citizen.

Waterford, Ireland
reviews: 3
1. Re: Senior citizen considering hostelling in Dublin

No-one can guarantee that you will not be the only senior citizen, but it will not matter, hostellers tend to be very easy-going and open minded about other travellers.

Dublin
reviews: 2
2. Re: Senior citizen considering hostelling in Dublin

I could be wrong but I think this is a non starter. Unless you are a very, very heavy sleeper. People break rules galore here so I wouldn't be relying on enforcement of noise controls, curfews etc, in the hostels.

Some hotels are at rock bottom prices at the moment, I'll get you started with this one which I'd recommend:

www.kingstonhotel.com

Ireland
3. Re: Senior citizen considering hostelling in Dublin

I'd find a B+B pr cheap hotel.

Limerick, Ireland
Destination Expert
for Limerick, Killarney
reviews: 38
4. Re: Senior citizen considering hostelling in Dublin

Gerry, I agree with Nice and Purple.

A B&B or hotel would suit your needs far better.

Are you planning to focus on Dublin or are you hoping to travel further afield?

Dublin Ireland
Destination Expert
for Dublin
reviews: 25