We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Isle of Skye for a solo traveler

Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
87 posts
23 reviews
Isle of Skye for a solo traveler

Hello,

I asked my friend where should I go in the world where I could have beautiful scenery, nice people and a quiet place to write. She recommended Isle of Skye. So now I'm turning to you guys :)

I'd like to come to Isle of Skye for a week in September. Mainly to relax and write so I'll be staying in the same place a lot. I do need internet and some comfort to write but the rest of the time I'll enjoy travelling. Where would be the most beautiful view from the B&B/hotel? And affordable if possible since I am just a student lol

Also, I'm guessing a car would make getting around a lot easier for the days I do want to travel around the island... So a good place to rent a car and also what would be the best way to reach Isle of Skye from London?

Any tips at all, welcome.

Scotland
Destination Expert
for Scotland
Level Contributor
6,898 posts
18 reviews
1. Re: Isle of Skye for a solo traveler

Fly to Inverness and rent a car there. Drive to Skye via the Skye bridge. Can't advise on accommodation without a budget. How much are you prepared to spend? Cheapest would be a hostel but you might want something more upmarket

Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
87 posts
23 reviews
2. Re: Isle of Skye for a solo traveler

Up to 100pounds a night. If a place is truly worth more I might make it a shorter trip and go for it. :)

Thank you.

Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
940 posts
58 reviews
3. Re: Isle of Skye for a solo traveler

Checkout Willowbank Cottage in Portree. It is a two bedroom cottage with full kitchen and wifi. I've stayed there twice in the past two years and it's quite comfortable and within your budget.

wenonah, new...