We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best meal in town?

Which Glasgow hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Abu Dhabi, United...
reviews: 23
Best meal in town?

I'm planning to take my family to Glasgow (I studied here), put them in a hotel overnight and have what will hopefully be a memorable dinner with them. It will be my 30th birthday (and will be special for other reasons too) and so I'm not so worried about price at the moment.

What I'd very much appreciate are tips for an elegant place for a great meal. I live in London now so I've been out of the loop for a while. I'd usually just refer to my Harden's Guide, but they don't seem to be especially enthusiastic about many places in Glasgow.

From what I can gather, Gamba (which I've been to and liked) and the Buttery seem to be recommended but other places like Brian Maule and the Chip get a bit of a kicking.

Can anyone help? Town centre location preferable.

Thanks very much.

scotland
reviews: 19
1. Re: Best meal in town?

Rogano just off Buchanan Street is lovely. Its quite old fashioned, pricey and serves great oysters. Check out their website.

La Laterna is a great Italian restaurant where I had my 21st birthday dinner. The food is excellent.

Glasgow
reviews: 15
2. Re: Best meal in town?

Brian Maule at Le Chardon D'Or is very nice. Etain in Princess Square is godd also. Both are quite dear. I only go to these on special occcasions.

scotland
3. Re: Best meal in town?

Catch 22 (on Bath street) is lovely. Great food, great surroundings, great service.

Abu Dhabi, United...
4. Re: Best meal in town?

Thanks, everyone.

Glasgow, United...
reviews: 6
5. Re: Best meal in town?