We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best way to travel to Dysart, St. Andrews, Faulkland

Which Edinburgh hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Moorestown, NJ
Best way to travel to Dysart, St. Andrews, Faulkland

We will be spending a week in Edinburgh beginning Sept. 4. We want to travel to Dysart where my ancestors (Symes) came from for a day or so. My husband wants to visit St. Andrews, and we also just want to view the lovely scenery along the shore. We aren't sure if we should rent a car, or is there is some commercial transport that would accomodate us. Are there any recommendations about transport or restaurants in those areas?

Also, I am an artist and will be looking for interesting sights in these areas to photograph, so I can paint them when I get home to the U.S. I would like to do a lovely painting in honor of my Scottish ancestry.

Thanks!

Seattle
reviews: 6
1. Re: Best way to travel to Dysart, St. Andrews, Faulkland

USLass: For St. Andrews, you can take the train from Edinburgh to Leuchars, and then bus or cab to St. Andrews, or just take the bus to/from Edinburgh.

http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/getting.shtml

http://www.stagecoachbus.com/timetables/X5960pckttt21072005[1].pdf

If you go further north by train to Stonehaven, Dunnottar Castle is situated very near the water -- perfect for land/sea scapes pictures. More info on this thread:

tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g186487-i579-k2876…

Russell, Kansas
reviews: 36
2. Re: Best way to travel to Dysart, St. Andrews, Faulkland