We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First time in Belfast

Which Belfast hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Tipperary
First time in Belfast

Me and a mate are heading to Belfast this month for the Belsonic Festival. as its my first time going can anyone recommend any good pubs, clubs, etc? also is it safe to walk most of the city being from the Republic?? cheers!!

Belfast
reviews: 16
1. Re: First time in Belfast

Belsonic is in Custom House Square which is in the city centre so there are plenty of places to drink nearby. Its safe walking around any of the usual tourist places - city centre, Botanic/Queens uni - just the usual cautions you would have visiting anywhere else. I would think there will be plenty of people from the south coming up for the concerts. Enjoy

North Coast, N...
Destination Expert
for Northern Ireland
reviews: 74
2. Re: First time in Belfast

is it safe to walk most of the city being from the Republic?? "

Absolutely no problem. You hear a lot of southern accents in the city centre nowadays on any weekend. Belfast is finally becoming a tourist destination and when I was in town yesterday, there were several languages being spoken which I didn't recognise and that was just in the shopping area.

Obviously avoid going out in a strongly loyalist area (like the Shankill) but that wouldn't really be on a visitor's agenda!! As the grant says, we've always had southern students at Queens so the university area is fine but you'll probably want to stay around the city centre.

The Duke of York is a good bar but totally depends what you're looking for. This link might be useful and give you an idea if any of these are your type of place..

gotobelfast.com/things-to-do/…

Edited: 1:48 pm, August 05, 2012
Tipperary
3. Re: First time in Belfast