We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2 weeks in North Yorkshire

aaby
2 weeks in North Yorkshire

My boyfriend and I are planning a two-week holiday in North Yorkshire, this November. It's my first time planning a trip, and it will be his first time in the UK, as he lives in the USA, so I'm finding it pretty difficult. I'd just like to know if my plans so far or okay, and if I've missed any options.

We're planning to spend the first week in Whitby. I found that a 7 day ticket with Arriva buses is only £17, and gives unlimited travel to anywhere in North Yorkshire.

Is the week pass a good idea? ( I can't drive, I don't trust him driving and car hire would be too expensive for us).

So, for the first week, I was thinking that we could spend the time visiting places along the coast, such as Whitby, Scarborough, and Robin Hood's Bay.

Are there any other places that anyone can recommend?

The second week, we're considering moving further inland, such as York or Harrogate, and buying another weekly ticket to visit other places in North Yorkshire without having to travel as far as we would from Whitby.

Would it be much much easier than travelling from Whitby, or would it make very little difference?

Is the Yorkshire Coastliner the best way to travel to wherever we decide to stay the second week when we have all of our things to carry?

And can anyone recommend places to visit and things to do for the second week?

Also, I'd be very grateful if anyone knows of any example itineraries that would fit these plans (we'd like to spend a lot of time visiting castles and historical sites, and a little time walking).

And lastly, can anyone tell me of the best place along the coast to visit for Bonfire Night, and if Whitby Abbey has an entrance fee?

Yorkshire Dales...
Destination Expert