We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

8 day itinerary - please review

Which London hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Washington DC...
8 day itinerary - please review

Hello all,

First, let me tell you how helpful I have found many threads on this forum so far. I will be going to London later this month and would love feedback on my itinerary. I will be traveling alone (mid-20s female), and this is my first time outside North America! I am heading to Dublin first for a few days and then over to London. I love museums, history, and literature if that helps with any suggestions for additional locations. I still have some room to fill on some days (and all of my last Friday), but would also like a few leisurely periods to walk around, have some tea, etc. Please let me know how I can improve. Thanks very much. Here goes:

Thursday: arrive in the early evening, eat, get settled

Friday

British Library

Sir John Soane's Museum

British Museum (open late)

Saturday

9:30 AM Westminster Abbey

11 AM Changing of the Horse Guards (as long as I feel like I saw enough of the Abbey)

Lunch (in St. James Park, if possible)

1:00 Tour of Houses of Parliament (already booked reservation at 1:15)

Tate Britain?

Sunday

Notting Hill - Portobello Road Market

Hyde Park

shopping - books, stationery?

Monday

Tower of London (already purchased ticket)

St. Paul's Cathedral

Globe Theater

7:30 PM Much Ado about Nothing at the Old Vic (already purchased ticket)

Tuesday

National Gallery

Cabinet War Rooms

other Westminster activities

St. Martin-in-the-Fields (classical concert?)

Wednesday

Day trip: Windsor Castle/Stonehenge/Bath (already purchased ticket)

Thursday

Hampstead Heath

Sherlock Holmes Museum

??

Friday

no plans yet!

Saturday - leave London via Heathrow

UK
reviews: 87