We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox. Mac: Safari.

London

Free Newsletter

Interested in London?

We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for London each week.

London Forum: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

Compare Rates for London Hotels
Check Rates
Michigan
posts: 59
reviews: 3
 Fraud - Apartment Rentals 

I've posted information about this previously, and continue to be notified by people who have been victimized by the same fraudulent scheme.

If anyone is renting a flat in London, DO NOT rent from any party who is using the following phone numbers in their web (or other) advertising for apartment rentals:

44 703 184 8961

44 704 012 0008

The "renter" is advertising flats on several web sites and under several different names including Dave Martin and Oliver Gaines. Email addresses include texasbred (yahoo) or oliverhomes (gmail). The only constants have been the (cell) phone numbers listed above, and payment required in advance via Western Union. The advertised flats are 25 Pembridge Gardens and another in Sloane Square, although it sounds like there are other properties being offered for "rent".

For those of you renting, please be careful and try to make sure it's a legitimate rental. Posters on TALF are most knowledgeable and helpful, and are a terrific resource for London accommodations.

Seattle
posts: 9,623
reviews: 8
1. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

Thanks for the info Mary.

People should also read:

tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g186338-i17-k10145…

Boston, MA
posts: 1
2. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

Thank you, Mary!

I just want to add that I've uncovered more names associated with the same scam. I do believe this is the same person or a group of people working together:

Richard Dominic, Terry Samuel, Oliver Gaines, Rolland Knight, Tony Johnson, Tony Joseph, Dave Martin(s), Matt Nicholas, Stephen Jack, Charles Walker, Richard Jordan, Patrick Murray, David Powell.

The email addresses they have used so far are: oliverhomes1104@hotmail.com, oliverhomes1104@gmail.com, oliverhomes1104@yahoo.com, tjrentals2003@yahoo.com, texasbred_007@yahoo.com, clergyman_gabe@yahoo.com, dave_martuk@yahoo.co.uk .

As far as I can see, the phone numbers are not limited to the two listed by above, but they do usually start with (+44) 70 ...

Another common thing about these fake listings is a VERY attractive price (62-120GBP) for expensive multi-bedroom apartments located in fashionable London areas. The description, as well as photos, of the fake property are usually stolen - fully or partially - from legitimate listings.

I also want to add, as my advice: always ask for references; don't be satisfied by email references -- ask for phone numbers and do try to call and speak to people.

Watford
posts: 26,494
reviews: 15
3. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals
Destination Expert   What's this?
for London

Do be wary of any UK phone number starting with 07 as it means it is a cellphone number and could be located anywhere in the world. The first 0 isn't dialled when calling from outside the UK.

Central London landline numbers begin with 0207 and outer London numbers with 0208 although that is no guarantee of the flat existing as phones can be diverted.

London...
posts: 8,959
reviews: 37
4. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

As Adam rightly points out, beware of numbers that start with 07, except that all UK mobile phone numbers start with 07. However, the ones that are 070 are the 'dodgy' ones.

Well...
posts: 164
reviews: 9
5. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

Pre paid sims, I guess?

Malta
posts: 1,062
reviews: 6
6. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

Are mobile phones in the UK registered? What I mean is, is there some way of tracing a number to a registered owner? Can this be done on-line?

Shoreditch...
posts: 47
reviews: 2
7. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

Are mobile phones in the UK registered?

The phones are only registered if you buy them from the mobile phone shops and if you enter into a contract. Fraudsters probably buy hese phones on eBay with a prepaid sims.

What I mean is, is there some way of tracing a number to a registered owner?

Not in cases above.

Can this be done on-line?

No - you won't be able to trace them on line either.

San Francisco
posts: 10
8. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

Thanks to TALF I didn't get scammed.

I know this is the same person, because when he sent me the booking form , I google searched the phone numbers and it led me here.

The "renter" now has a new name Dave Moloney and has several ads listed in C****list. The rates are very tempting.

The email he/she is now using is improvas2324 (yahoo). The "renter" did make the request of full payment prior to arriving by Western Union. I told him I was uncomfortable with that and he even assured me that he was legit. Then he continued to pressure me to book because other renters we are also interested in the dates I wanted. He even offered to pick us up at the airport free of charge. Wow, Unbelievable!

Thanks again to TALF. I almost had a very expensive lesson.

London...
posts: 102
reviews: 9
9. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

helpful!

*bump*

Singapore
posts: 2
10. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

Interesting posts here. It sounds very similar to a 3 bed/2 bath apartment in Mayfair, London (25 Hill Street) at a suspiciously low rent as advertised by a gentleman claiming to be called John Greene on the alwaysonvacation.com website. He too asks for full payment up front via Moneygram and offers to pick up at the airport free of charge. The contact details used here are Phone: +44 703-196-7034 Fax : +44 709-286-7064 and E-mail: BATFIELDWAS@AOL.COM. Although he will not reveal the address or details for key collection until full payment is made, the advertisement clearly states that the property is located in Hill Street. He suggests in this advertisement that you should address the moneygram payment to his agent Mr Rick Jackson at 25 Hill Street (this is in fact a commercial property housing various companies' offices). I have reported this owner and his property as suspicious to the alwaysonvacation website operators and requested a reference or notice of any complaints. I am currently awaiting a response. Anyone else had experience of this particular property?

See all sites
Cruise Critic

The ultimate cruise resource: cruise reviews, deals, news and advice.

SeatGuru

The world's most comprehensive source for airline seats, airline info, & in-flight amenities.

Family Vacation Critic

The best family vacations start here.

Best beach houses of 2012 »