We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leeds or Bodiam Castle???

Which Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Sarnia, Canada
reviews: 17
Leeds or Bodiam Castle???

Which would make the more memorable day:

Leeds Castle in the morning followed by Sissinghurst Castle Gardens in the afternoon (OR) Battle in the morning followed by lunch and two hours at Bodiam Castle followed by the remainder of the afternoon at Sissinghurst Castle Gardens (open until 6:00 pm). I am leaning towards Bodiam rather than Leeds since I tend to be a romantic and the ruins look a little less touristy, but this is just a gut feeling and I have no first hand experience at either place. We are travelling from Canada and my husband has no previous experience driving on the left hand side of the road.

15 replies to this topic
Albufeira, Portugal
Destination Expert
for Algarve, Faro
reviews: 22
1. Re: Leeds or Bodiam Castle???

I once lived in the area and know it fairly well.

Bodiam Castle is a nice place, as is the village, and you have the added attraction nearby of the steam powered Kent and East Sussex Railway.

http://kesr.org.uk/

(no parking at the station but it''s only a short walk from the village)

Battle and the Abbey is one of the most historic sites in England, 1066 and all that. It can get a bit busy.

The A21 and A2100 roads are in parts rather narrow and winding, so it's a slow and careful drive.

Kent
reviews: 12
2. Re: Leeds or Bodiam Castle???