We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Tahoe or Yosemite in 2 weeks?

Which South Lake Tahoe hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
PA
reviews: 4
Lake Tahoe or Yosemite in 2 weeks?

Which one would be a nicer destination? We are looking for a beautiful location, to relax, hike, enjoy the peace of nature. I heard the weather can be very unpredictable during this time. I have no experience in this area since I'm from east coast - is this a good time to visit this area or are there better areas in california for this purpose? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Roseville...
reviews: 15
1. Re: Lake Tahoe or Yosemite in 2 weeks?

Do you mean you are coming in two weeks? Around November 14, 2012?

If so, yes, the weather will be unpredictable with snow very likely.

Anywhere in Cali you are likely to encounter some rain. I'd plan a trip around the south Cali coast, say Monterey and Santa Barbara. Or north coast such as Mendocino plus Napa Valley.

Napa, CA
Destination Expert
for Napa
reviews: 22
2. Re: Lake Tahoe or Yosemite in 2 weeks?

Yosemite Valley can be very beautiful in mid-November. The fall colors are especially beautiful. The elevation there is 4000 feet whereas Tahoe is 6100 feet. It's the off-season at Tahoe and if there's snow on the ground, hiking will be difficult.

And, yes, the coastal areas can be very nice at that time of year if the storms are late. Also, consider Death Valley or some of the other desert areas. November is a great time of year in those regions.

Santa Barbara...
reviews: 1
3. Re: Lake Tahoe or Yosemite in 2 weeks?