We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where to stay in Sydney

Which Greater Sydney hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
London, England...
Where to stay in Sydney

My boyfriend and I arrive in Sydney at the beginning of December and plan to work and live there for 6 months. I am a nurse, so hopefully working in the hospitals in the area, but not a specific one, perhaps different ones, I'm not certain yet. This is why where to stay is difficult at the moment. Does anyone have any advice of where we should stay with good transport links, nightlife, plus not too pricey. Thank you. Sarah

Sydney, Australia
reviews: 27
1. Re: Where to stay in Sydney

Have a look at www.wotif.com to get an idea of what's available, where and at what price.

You may want to check out Airbnb, stayz and YHA.

Longer term rentals - have a look at www.domain.com.au ... Generally unfurnished and you will of course need to know what location you want to be in.

Other than that, probably inner west or Eastern Suburbs would suit you.

For meaningful advice, we need to know when you're coming, budget. Sydney is rather a large town. About 4.5 million people. Hospitals all over the place.

Sydney/Melbourne
reviews: 47
2. Re: Where to stay in Sydney

I would have thought that place of work would determine location. No point in getting a flat in Bondi and a job at Westmead Hopsital, then commuting an hour and a half each way to get to work.

>>not too pricey<< in Sydney has a different meaning to every other city in the world - including London! Be prepared for a shock.