We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

quebec city for a month (or two)

Which Quebec City hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
PA
reviews: 36
quebec city for a month (or two)

yes, you read the title of this correctly. i'd like some input from some locals and frequent visitors on my somewhat odd plan for next summer.

my story: i travel. a lot. i took all of last year off to travel as much as possible, and now i'm back to work. i'm a teacher; thus, my travels are once again limited to the summer months. instead of running all over for my two months off, i'd instead like to spend next summer REALLY getting to know a place. i want to do that whole 'live like a local' thing, but for real (i feel like people try to do this too quickly; it takes a while to feel like you really live somewhere). i have eight weeks to play with. wherever i'd choose, i'd spend at least a month, if not six weeks to the entire two months. currently my first choice--with much encouragement from my husband--is quebec city (obviously). here's why:

my requirements:

(if you'd like to read the long version of this, here's my post about my plans: suitcasescholar.com/2012/… the readers' digest version follows)

-near nature but in a large town or city

-somewhere with a slightly different culture

-somewhere with good food

-somewhere walkable or with good public transport (i'd also have a car in this case)

-somewhere that would make a good home base for a couple of long weekend (or long mid week) trips

-ideally somewhere that i could learn another language (i took six years of french but realized how little good that did me when i spent two weeks in paris a couple of years ago...)