We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

real ghost or abandoned ghost towns nearby?

Which Kelowna hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
LindaJGimli
reviews: 7
real ghost or abandoned ghost towns nearby?

I am a photographer visiting Kelowna in April and I am working on a collection of photography of old, derelict and abandoned buildings...can anyone tell me of some interesting "real" ghost towns (not the Barkerville type) nearby? Within a day trip that would be a nice drive as well?

Thank you for any help you can offer.

Cheers, Linda

Vancouver, Canada
reviews: 41
1. Re: real ghost or abandoned ghost towns nearby?

Have a look here...

http://www.ghosttownpix.com/bc/

Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver
reviews: 37
2. Re: real ghost or abandoned ghost towns nearby?

Hi Linda !

You would have to sort out the locations of the places on the following website. You can click on the hyperlinks to read more about each location. Look for Similkameen, Okanagan, Shuswap, even the Cariboo although that is a bit north of Kelowna.

…wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_ghost_towns_in_B…

and this website as well:

http://itsmysite.com/bchistory/

Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver
reviews: 14
3. Re: real ghost or abandoned ghost towns nearby?

I immediately thought of Sandon, but that's a serious drive from Kelowna - just under 5 hours... and I don't know how much of Sandon is left, but it's worth looking into: …wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandon,_British_Columbia

I haven't done this drive, but it would no doubt be beautiful!

Edited: 3:03 am, March 25, 2013
Victoria, Canada
4. Re: real ghost or abandoned ghost towns nearby?