We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What travel health insurance pays upfront?

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Which Cabo San Lucas hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Chicago, Illinois
reviews: 26
What travel health insurance pays upfront?

Hello everybody,

I'm new to TA forum and love all the useful info I've been reading.

After reading about that unfortunate couple who had an accident while zip lining, I figured I need to get insurance ASAP.

We have Blue cross Blue Shield but I'm interested in getting travel insurance to be extra

covered. We are in our 20s but one never knows what destiny has in store for us, better to be safe than sorry.

What insurance pays upfront?

I've been looking into FrontierMedex, Allianz, and Skymed.

Thanks in advance

21 replies to this topic
colorado
reviews: 6
1. Re: What travel health insurance pays upfront?

there are two different type of insurances. One is SkyMed (or something similar), which evacuates you to the US if you need to get home. It could be as simple as catching the next flight out, which they reimburse for, or arranging a fully equipped medical transfer. Traveler insurance, is medical coverage for care you receive while being away from home in US, Canada, Mexico, Carribean or Costa Rica. This type of plan will allow you to go to a hospital or medical clinic and receive treatment. I was just quoted around $500 for Skymed and $700 for medical coverage for my family of 6. These are annual prices. There are lots of companies out there so shop around. I bet its cheaper if you only do coverage for a short trip. Hope that helps!

Minneapolis...
reviews: 53
2. Re: What travel health insurance pays upfront?