We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Trip to Mexico

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Which Playa del Carmen hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
New York
First Trip to Mexico

Hi. I am thinking of taking a trip to Mexico from NYC. I'll be traveling solo, and am a 47 year old man. I'm a teacher, so my date range is from March 16-March 26.

1. Is Playa del Carmen a good place to go?

2. Is Cancun better?

3. I'm guessing this is spring break time. Will there be a way to avoid the crazieness, or it is what it is?

4. any other recommendations?

Thanks

Grosse Ile, Michigan
reviews: 34
1. Re: First Trip to Mexico

I think Playa Del Carmen is a great place to go. If I were a 47 year old man traveling solo, I would definitely want to be in an Adults only resort. If I were a 47 year old man traveling solo over spring break I would definitely stay away from Cancun. I would think an adults only within walking distance to PDC would be the best, or stay at a small hotel in PDC. Have Fun :)

Brandon, Canada
2. Re: First Trip to Mexico

Playa for sure StuQ.

Vancouver
Destination Expert
for Akumal, Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo, Puerto Morelos
3. Re: First Trip to Mexico

You have a large town / small city in Playa

Small towns in Puerto Morelos, Puerto Aventuras (more of a gated american area), Akumal, Tulum (famous 5 + mile beach)

And lots of resorts between

Do you like to explore , eat everywhere - then I would not get an AI but stay at one of these towns

What are your requirements???

New York City, New...
Destination Expert
for Yucatan Peninsula
reviews: 58
4. Re: First Trip to Mexico

Playa for sure and there is no need to stay in an adults only all inclusive. You will meet plenty of adults on the beaches, bars, restaurants and night clubs.