We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budgeting for Vacations

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Which Cancun hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
KANSAS
reviews: 23
Budgeting for Vacations

Last night, my husband and I got into a serious conversation about vacations and the money which should be set aside. We are both curious how so many people on the forum take 3 and 4 vacations a year? We live a somewhat modest life. We both have good jobs. We don't have children or high car payments. Yet we struggle some years to make sure we have the funds to go on 1 nice vacation let alone 3 or 4. We would sure be interested to read your tips and tricks to budgeting multiple vacations.

Cortland, NY
reviews: 135
21. Re: Budgeting for Vacations

I am a teacher. We can only go on one large vacation a year...we budget $5,000 for that trip. I enjoy vacationing so much that I work a part time front desk job at a hotel to pay for my vacation habit. It also gives me perks for hotel stays for those smaller vacations. I agree that it is whatever you are passionate about. I am not one for expensive clothes or a gorgoeus home (probably because I am a teacher LOL!!) but I love to travel-and will do what I need to do to support that passion!

This June I am retiring, and although we are traveling to Puerto Morelos next week we have also booked a 15 day trip to Italy in September. I certainly realize that Italy will be a one time only trip, and I will savor every single minute of that experience!

Happy travels all!!

Cape Coral, Florida
Destination Expert
for San Pedro
reviews: 9
22. Re: Budgeting for Vacations