We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What can I do in Christiansted?

Which Christiansted hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Boston...
What can I do in Christiansted?

I'm looking into traveling to the Caribbean for my Spring break (end of March).

I've looked up some options and am considering the Cayman Islands, the Bahamas, and both the Virgin Islands.

I'd like to go somewhere that isn't just a touristy atmosphere and super expensive (I'm a college student with little money :P), but still maybe try out some activities I've never done before such as scuba diving or sailing. Does Christiansted have these options at a reasonable price (and what is that price)? What kind of activities are also available to do there?

Are there ferries from the U.S. Virgin Islands to the other islands, or what islands are best connected? Are ferries expensive?

Accommodation won't be a problem as I plan to couchsurf. I'm just a little worried about the price of doing things and also food, and I don't know much about the Carribean, so any tips would be very appreciated!

Thanks!

6 replies to this topic
St Thomas
Destination Expert
for St. Thomas
reviews: 15
1. Re: What can I do in Christiansted?

Same advice as on the St Thomas forum - look under "things to do" top of this page.

St Croix is 40 nautical miles from St Thomas and St John and there is no ferry service from STX to other islands.

New Jersey
reviews: 7
2. Re: What can I do in Christiansted?

The usvi's are pretty expensive cheaper to fly to Puerto Rico than St thomas most of the time. Scuba diving is expensive might want to try snorkeling instead as no boat or expensive equipment needed, you can rent snorkel gear very cheaply. chartering a sailboat will run you quite a bit but maybe you can get on a group sail.