We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A last minute trip... Please Help!

Which Grand Canyon National Park hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
girasoledonna
reviews: 1
A last minute trip... Please Help!

Hi... I'm a musician and artist who is recording an album in Phoenix this week :) I'm staying till the 23rd and then flying home, and oh btw my boyfriend and drummer is with me for the trip.

Today when we arrived I was so inspired the beautiful weather and valentines day that I decided I'd like to surprise him if possible and move our departure date back to the 25th and go see the Grand Canyon.

I'm a regular solo traveler and usually do extensive homework before a trip- but I'm swamped with work and to pull this off without him knowing will take me acting immediately.

My questions are:

1) from north black canyon highway in Phoenix how far is it by car to the canyon? Is it drive able?

2) where should we stay up there for cheap? Solo guide or guided tour?

3) what are the must sees or dos for a two day stay? And should we drive back and fly out of sky international or fly out of airport near canyon?

Thanks!! I really wann make this happen and need all the help I can get!

tucson az
Destination Expert
for Tucson, Arizona, Northern Mexico
reviews: 57
1. Re: A last minute trip... Please Help!

1) It's about 4 hours from Phoenix to GCNP. It's an interstate highway, so yes, it's driveable. Drive it in the day time.

2) There's really no such thing as staying at the canyon "for cheap." The lowest rates right now are around $79/night in a park lodge if available but more likely $90-120/night. It's possible there is lodging in the park, but you would need to reserve that immediately. If nothing available call for cancellations, Otherwise stay in Tusayan just outside the park.