We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Rim

Which Grand Canyon National Park hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
South Rim

We'd like to visit the South Rim in November. Any recommendations for a place to stay and hiking for a family of four (kids10+12)? Where would you recommend flying in to? Any other attreactions which aren't too touristy? Thanks.

Harpers Ferry, WV
1. Re: South Rim

I signed up for a hike in December sponsored by Four Seasons Outfitters. They can be reached at http://www.fsoutfitters.com/ However, it's my first time with them so I'm

not in a position to be a referal from experience. We'll see. Jacques

On the Road
2. Re: South Rim

Julie,

Sounds like fun!

I used to live and work on the South Rim but haven't been there for a while so some specifics may need checking, but you need to ask yourself a few questions first:

Early or Late November? At 7000 feet, the South Rim is getting colder and it can snow at any time (usually does around mid-Oct for the first time). If earlier, the weather may be milder BUT DON'T FORGET YOUR SWEATSHIRTS/STOCKING CAPS AND GLOVES!!!! If there hasn't been much snow, the trails won't be icy. Later in the winter/spring ice can be a real issue on the upper portion of the Bright Angel and South Kaibab trails as the sun doesn't get to shine on it.

Know that if you are coming out for Thanksgiving weekend it's going to be very busy. Pretty much, any time kids anywhere are out of school it's busy.