We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What to do in Glacier Bay

Orlando
reviews: 10
What to do in Glacier Bay

Hi,

I will be in Spokane, WA attending a Photo Workshop in June. I want to fly to Juneau from there and take the ferry to Gustavus/Glacier Bay and stay for three days/nights.

I plan to fly to Juneau on 6/10 and take the 7am ferry to Gustavus on 6/11. I defintely want to take the Glacier Bay Cruise tour and the Whale watching tour. I would also like to visit the town of Gustavus to take some photos, meet people and sample the local cuisine.

I am 60 years old and in good shape. I am an avid amateur photographer and like to hike.

What other tours or activities would any of you suggest? Is it safe to hike on my own, or should I only go on the ranger led hike(s). Any advice on whether to stay in a B&B or the Glacier Bay Lodge? I don't mind biking as long as the weather isn't horrible...

Thanks,

Larry

MN
Destination Expert
for Alaska
reviews: 24
1. Re: What to do in Glacier Bay

You hit the highlights. There are a couple of hiking trails of various lengths that you can use (see the Glacier Bay NP website for details). The whale watching with Taz is great (did that, though our whale sightings that day were just OK). There are some ranger-led hikes/walks but they are usually relatively short. I think you need to be alert when hiking but not paranoid. It is bear and moose territory.

I tent camped when three but I realize that is not for most people. It depends what you want in lodging. Glacier Bay Lodge is convenient but relatively expensive. They might have a 2-for-1 coupon (check Top Questions about Alaska for info on these) for the lodge and/or the tour. If so, book two places on the tour and maybe you can find someone once you arrive to split the cost :-)