We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airbnb newbie - help, please!

Lewes, United...
Destination Expert
for Road Trips
reviews: 40
Airbnb newbie - help, please!

I'm considering using 'airbnb' for an apartment rental for a vacation. I have never used this service before so am looking for help, tips, advise, etc.

Firstly, are there any issues with using the service in the first place, please?

Then, provided it's OK to use this organisation, are there any advice about things to check and take precautions about regarding payments, owners, hidden fees, other charges, or other aspects of the actual booking process that I should be observant about?

How easy is it to get owners to respond to enquiries via the online dialogue boxes? As I'm looking to book in a country with a very different time zone and where English isn't the local language, I don't think a phone call will help me, so I need to get all my info from the website or the messaging feature.

Any other advice and recommendations much appreciated.

Thank you.

5 replies to this topic
Oklahoma City...
reviews: 7
1. Re: Airbnb newbie - help, please!

We used airbnb for the first time earlier this year. We found a great price on a place in the SF area. I had looked in SF proper but eventually went with one on the pacific highway coast. It was great and we will be going back. Since our trip, I have heard from friends that they had good experiences as well and probably will not stay in a hotel in a major US again. Just remember to look thru the reviews. You might ask for an email when you send a message. We definitely will be looking at airbnb.com next time we take a trip. Where are you wanting to go?

Portland, Oregon
reviews: 38
2. Re: Airbnb newbie - help, please!