We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Can I use a large bag as a personal bag in a plane?

Quezon City...
reviews: 4
Can I use a large bag as a personal bag in a plane?

Hi! I'm flying to MNL - ICN - JFK via Korean Air (Economy). It's my first time on Korean Air. I am planning to use this bag (larger than average personal bag) as a personal bag and then bring a suitcase as a carry-on bag. Here's the link with the dimensions: travelonbags.com/anti-theft/signature/anti-t…

I will use this as my laptop bag/personal bag. My dilemma is that before, on a Delta flight, I used a similar sized bag as my personal bag but then the flight crew at the gate, once boarding, informed me that I should "check" the bag. I'm not sure but I think I remember putting a tag on it and handing it to them and I think they just set it in one part of the cabin. I claimed the bag from them once disembarking already.

Will this by any chance happen again on this future flight? just curious... Thanks!

11 replies to this topic
San Diego
Destination Expert
for San Diego
reviews: 61
1. Re: Can I use a large bag as a personal bag in a plane?

That looks to me like a large tote bag. I have the same sort of bag that I use as my personal item. It goes UNDER the seat while my wheeled carryon goes in the overhead compartment.

I would not bring 2 bags on board to put both of them in the overhead sooo I'd only bring it if it can squish down to fit under the seat.

Chicago, Illinois
reviews: 75
2. Re: Can I use a large bag as a personal bag in a plane?