We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Customs waiting time ORD (O'Hare International Airport) T5

Piraeus, Greece
Customs waiting time ORD (O'Hare International Airport) T5

Hey everyone!This is my first time travelling overseas.I will be arriving in Chicago,ORD, Terminal 5 from Paris,France on December 12th, 3 pm. Lay over is 2 hours and then I fly from Terminal 1 to Denver. I am a european citizen.

I have been reading reviews here about waiting times and I've seen anything from 20 minutes to 2 hours. According to the information provided and based on your personal experience will I make it?

34 replies to this topic
Limerick, Ireland
1. Re: Customs waiting time ORD (O'Hare International Airport) T5

go to cbp.gov /

Watford, United...
reviews: 12
2. Re: Customs waiting time ORD (O'Hare International Airport) T5

No one will be able to tell you whether you will make it or not.

If your flight is on time and there are not that many international flights in front you may be ok. However if you are late in and there are a bunch of international flights before you you may not be.

If you miss your connection and are booked on one ticket the airline will put you on the next available flight free of charge.

Geneva, Switzerland
Destination Expert
for Geneva, Liechtenstein, Air Travel
reviews: 263
3. Re: Customs waiting time ORD (O'Hare International Airport) T5

ORD is an efficient airport, and normally immigration is not too long. But if you get there right after a B747, it will be longer obviously. And it is not unusual for an intercontinental flight to be late.