We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Connection time needed for flights into Miami??

reviews: 2
Connection time needed for flights into Miami??

I am looking at flights from London which involves connection in Miami. Now this may seem a silly question to some but I've never done a connecting flight before.

So what happens? Do I collect luggage and then go and check in again like you would if you was starting you trip?

Only ask as some connection times are not long and involve a change of terminal too.

Help needed please

Bingley, United...
Destination Expert
for Edinburgh
1. Re: Connection time needed for flights into Miami??

If you have any other option then don't connect via a US airport (if heading to Central or South America look at flights via a European hub)

As to what happens it will depend on your final destination and what approach your airline will take. What is certain it that it will be a long and painful process

www.miami-airport.com/flight_connections.asp

Liverpool, UK
reviews: 14
2. Re: Connection time needed for flights into Miami??

You should allow a minimum of 3 hours, probably 5 hrs at Miami, to make a connection from an international arrival to any departing flight.

MIA is probably one of the worst airports for connections - on arrival you'll clear US Immigration, collect bags, clear US Customs, return bags and get to your departure gate - I would avoid connecting in the US if you are not staying in the US unless I had no other flight options.

Remember you'll need an ESTA or Visa (depending on your nationality) even if you are just in transit at the airport.

Fort Lauderdale...
reviews: 111
3. Re: Connection time needed for flights into Miami??

Five Hours ? Seriously ? When was the last time you cleared Miami's FIS ?

Chicago, Illinois
reviews: 75