We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Are stopovers incredibly expensive or am I missing something

reviews: 2
Are stopovers incredibly expensive or am I missing something

Hello All,

I'm a real newbie in the world of international air travel. How do travellers arrange for realistics stopovers on route?

I'm looking to fly to Reykjavik, Iceland from Sydney, Australia in April 2014.

Finnair currently has a seemingly excellent rate from Singapore to Reykjavik for around $1,100 return. The flight includes an 8 hour layover in Helsinki though. After travelling Sydney to Singapore, then to Finland, I'd rather extend that 8 hour layover into a day of recovery and sightseeing in Helsinki instead of hanging around for an awkward 8 hours after 20+ already flying.

If I calculate the same route but add a day in Helsinki, the price jumps from 1,100 to 5,000. Even if I manually select other flights out of Helsinki the price increases significantly.

I'd also like to check out Norway on the return leg.

What's the best way to arrange stop overs?

Florida - Alaska...
Destination Expert
for Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province, Outdoors / Adventure Travel
reviews: 1
1. Re: Are stopovers incredibly expensive or am I missing something

You could try it as two open jaw tickets to see how that prices out, Sydney to Helsinki, then back from Oslo and Helsinki to Reykavik to Oslo. This would allow you to make your layovers any length you wanted.

You could also possibly look at slightly more expensive Sydney to Reykavik fares, as the higher priced fares sometimes allow stop overs for a small fee.

You can also use the multi-city option of 3rd party websites like Expedia to see what combinations come out cheaper.

Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
reviews: 12