We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airport Security

Milwaukee
Airport Security

I will be flying for the first time in about a week and I am a little about the whole process while going through the metal detectors with the TSA. I am wondering what you do with your cash that you bring with you and I'm mostly curious as to if the TSA goes through your purse when it goes through or if the just the scanner sees what's inside. As I said this is my first time flying so please be nice with your responses. Thank you :)

22 replies to this topic
Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for London
reviews: 14
1. Re: Airport Security

As far as coins go, I usually put mine in a small - 3 in square - clear plastic bag and put them in the bin to go through the scanner. I also put my camera, house keys, computer cord, mini computer light, phone and charger into a larger clear bag which again goes into the bin with my laptop.

Why? Because I'm tired of the 'what's all this then?' when a small handful of coins goes through the scanner in my handbag; the jumble of electronic goods has had the same 'we need to look at this closely' (for 30 minutes) response. When they're in a clear bag and obvioiusly just a selection of coins and some unexciting electronic accessories, it makes the whole process much easier.

The little folding money I take is tucked into my wallet, inside my handbag, which is zipped into my rollaboard bag for the trip through the scanner.

Unless your bags are chockablock full so the contents can't be viewed, Thousands Standing Around probably won't want to open any of them - but one never knows.