We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

5 week trip from Boston to Shanghai

Greenville, New...
5 week trip from Boston to Shanghai

So I'm spending 5 weeks in Shanghai studying at Fudan University and I am trying to find the best airline. I'm taking into account price, comfort, and baggage allowance (I pack heavy).

I'm leaning towards Air France's PV as of now because of the baggage allowance. In anyone's opinion, is the leg room and baggage allowance worth the increase and price and supposedly harder seats? I'm not too worried about food (I am a college student) and I am 5'6" in case you know if economy would be sufficient room for my height.

I've only flown from the Boston area to Florida and to Texas so I don't have experience with really long flights or having to pack a lot of things.

surrey
reviews: 25
1. Re: 5 week trip from Boston to Shanghai

How is BA's premium economy pricing out for your dates. The checked in luggage allowance may be similar but BA's carry on allowance is a lot more generous - they allow 23kgs - the only stipulation is that you need to be able to lift it into the overhead locker yourself. You could put your books in your carry on as they would I imagine be some of the heaviest things you'll be taking.

You would then be connecting in London and may be able to get a BA flight from there from an airport closer to your home.

Don't pack your bags up to the maximum allowance on the way out anyway as you may want to do some shopping when you're there. The best thing we bought there was a silk filled duvet - a super king size weighing 2kgs - this was intended to be our summer weight one and it was great for then - not too hot. However we still have it on our bed and the temperature here for the last few nights was below freezing and it was stll toasty.

Hong Kong, China