We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Question about layovers

Denver, Colorado
reviews: 25
Question about layovers

I'm prepping to book my first international flight and I would appreciate some guidance regarding the layover, if someone can help me. The flight I'm looking at is Denver, Colorado, to Shannon, Ireland. What I'm looking at is Continental from Denver to London, with a 2 1/2 hour layover, Aer Lingus London to Shannon. This would be on one ticket, I believe, as it's the option that comes up for me, not two separate searches. My question is - on such a flight, would I have to pick up my luggage in London and re-check it for the flight to Shannon? The info on the Continental website doesn't seem clear to me, I'm sure because I'm new to this. Thanks in advance for your help!! Oh, and is it safe to assume the 2 1/2 hours will be long enough to make the connecting flight seeing as that's how the potential booking comes up on inquiry?

Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for London
reviews: 14
1. Re: Question about layovers

Unfortunately EI (Aer Lingus) does not have an interline agreement with CO and your bags will not be checked through. But - if you're thinking of booking CO6701 do note that it's a codeshare flight, operated by UA (United) rather than with CO itself.

The good news is that if you can supply a UA flight number / locator code to EI then your bags should be checked through to SNN, as EI does have an interline agreement with UA. I don't know if EI will accommodate if you have a CO flight number / locator code only, so it's definitely worthwhile giving the airline a shout to see what can be done.