We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calle del Mar 1 | Plaza Felix Rodriguez de la Fuenta, Santa Pola, Spain
965415929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 128 Restaurants in Santa Pola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Sun - Sat 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
7:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Great steaks and lovely veg too!! Friendly staff considering my Spanish is very poor! Portions generous and decent veg sometimes hard to come by in local restaurants in my experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

As this is one of our top five restaurants in SantaPola it is hardly surprising that we are back again, Hard to understand the negative comments from others, just ask and the staff are ever eager to please. maybe there are professional moaners at work, maybe from rival establishments that just cant compete !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Can't believe this Restaurant is rated number 5 on the Tripadvisor. Argentinan food. Very, very poor service! Plates taken from customer before customer is finished 1st course. Mixed meats full of bone and fatty. Worst meal in Santa Pola. Don't understand high tripadvisor rating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Matera G, Propietario at La Matera, responded to this review

Dear Hathor06 I`m sorry you had this impression on our service, which is not normal. We are very proud with our place and work and we try every day to keep quality and improve. Your strong comment will indeed make us work harder for it. You had our basic and cheapest menu. This is not an excuse for us. Mistakes... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great for steaks!! Period. We ate in the cool little saterlite area...prices fair also...good expresso's and attentive service what's not to like...great at around sunset.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

If it weren't for some pretty poor service (forgetting sides & sauces) I would give this 5/5. Have had steaks at Hawksmoor / Gauchos in London and the rib eye here definitely rivalled them. Wonderfully quality meat at reasonable prices. Was blown away after eating here...such a shame about the service. Would highly recommend the steaks!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

these people have two restaurants very close to each other, One is an Argentinian steak house which has some of the best steaks and more, they do a choice of set menus, we recommend the € 18.oo menu for two which includes their really good house wine. the nearby restaurant is an Italian with a difference, not just your normal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tibi, Alicante
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was a first time visit at lunchtime good choice menu main complaint was main courses were served before starters finished with no apology or offer to take food away until we were ready would visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Santa Pola, Spain
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just moved in to an apartment in Samta Pola del Este and were hungry and not in the mood of cooking yet. So we decided to give it a try and order pizza at home. The experience was great! We were prepared to order in Spanish with our rusty Spanish but there was a girl on the phone who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited twice during our holiday and on each occasion were very pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. In August the heat and humidity in this part of Spain can be oppressive to say the least so the comfort cooling was more than welcome. The greeting and service received was extremely cordial , professional and the advice on menu items and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Murcia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Read the reviews on this restaurant on trip advisor, so suggested it to the friends we were travelling with. In late September, it was quiet, but the service and advice from our waitress was very good, she talked us through the choice of Spanish and Argentinian wines, and we settled on the Argentinean red - Malbec - to accompany our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed La Matera also viewed

Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
 
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
Santa Pola, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Matera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Matera

Address: Calle del Mar 1 | Plaza Felix Rodriguez de la Fuenta, Santa Pola, Spain
Phone Number: 965415929
Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Valencian Country  >  Alicante Province  >  Costa Blanca  >  Santa Pola
Open Hours:
Sunday 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm  7:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Monday 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm  7:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm  7:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm  7:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm  7:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm  7:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm  7:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Cuisine: Argentinean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Matera staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?